Body rookie

What Are the Parts of the Female Reproductive System?

The female reproductive system is a collection of organs inside the body that make it possible to have a baby. These include:
  • The ovaries: females are born with two, one on each side of the pelvis, about the size and shape of a large grape. This is where the eggs (ovum) mature before being released down the fallopian tube towards the uterus. This is also where the hormones estrogen and progesterone are produced. 

  • The fallopian tubes: there are two of those, too, one tube on each side leading from each ovary to the uterus. These tubes provide a passageway for the egg to travel. 

  • The uterus: a muscle just a little bit bigger than your closed fist. The inside walls of the uterus is covered with a nutrient-rich lining that can nourish a fetus, so if a woman gets pregnant, the fertilized egg implants itself in the lining of the uterus so it can grow and thrive. Without a pregnancy, the lining lasts about a month and then sheds itself so that a new one can grow. The shedded lining is a period.

Reading next

opened pad and tampons on a wooden dish on bathroom counter
How to Put in, Remove, and Clean a Menstrual Cup

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.